Sketching with Markers – Afternoon Tea in the Gardens

23 Jul

Today, I get to attend a free program organised by the Library titled “Sketching with Markers”. It was a fun session and I learned new techniques like using various textures and patterns to create depth and shading. I must say everyone in my session is so talented. Art is stronger in Singapore than I thought!

The theme for today is nature and the session was in the afternoon. So I came up with this sketch of the cheerful sunflower, and the butterfly and little fairy having afternoon tea. I need to practise more but I am happy with my attempt. Thank you Library and the Guest Speakers for making this happen!

Butterfly and Fairy Tea Party

3 Responses to “Sketching with Markers – Afternoon Tea in the Gardens”

  1. Lior July 23, 2015 at 10:10 pm #

    So cute! I like how the butterfly is making good use of his extra arms ^_^
    Nice to hear you found a fun drawing group near you – especially one with really talented artists – those meetings are the most inspiring of all!

    • rusty July 23, 2015 at 11:15 pm #

      Haha yeah. If I draw this again, I think I will add a teapot to another arm, a sugar pot to one, and a spoon for another!
      It is a one time thing but I look forward to joining other programs. Painting sounds promising!

  2. Carl D'Agostino July 29, 2015 at 7:57 pm #

    I like the sunflowers as they lord over the rest of the garden like pillars reaching for the sun.

Leave a Reply

