Exotic Meat At A Supermarket Near You

10 Sep

 

Spot the exotic meat! 🙂

Crocodile Meat At A Supermarket

 

I was looking at the Korean style marinated meats on the right side of the photo and feeling impressed by the supermarket’s selection given that it is not a Korean speciality supermarket. I suppose the Korea wave is big in Singapore.

But boy I have no idea that crocodile meat is so readily available. Yes, that is the exotic meat in my perspective. There must be a market somehow.

I don’t recall ever eating crocodile meat. The most exotic meat I have tried is deer, frog and turtle. However, I did watched a TV show where they passed off fried crocodile meat as fried chicken in a bucket that says KFC with the text Kuiaba Fried Crocodile in small text. The people on the show did not suspect anything although they find the meat to be a little different from what they are used to eating in their home country. 

So what exotic meats are available in your supermarket or what are the exotic meats that you have tried?

 

2 Responses to “Exotic Meat At A Supermarket Near You”

  1. l1or September 10, 2014 at 10:00 pm #

    you’ve tried frog and turtle! that’s pretty adventurous! the most adventurous I get is attempting some weird-looking seafood.. like a scallop… I live on the edge 😛 I draw the line at anything with a face – like a pawn! I think a lot of exotic meats are available in London but mostly in specialty shops. In supermarkets the most unusual you see is probably something like venison, goose or guinea fowl. Or a weird meat part like ox tongue or something. 😯

    • rusty September 10, 2014 at 10:33 pm #

      For frog, I need to clarify what I ate was frog legs. It is usually as a stir fry dish or in porridge. As for turtle, my parents fed it to me when I was young in a tonic soup mix. Now I ain’t going to try it any more. Scallop is nice! I would eat more of it if it is not expensive. Lol.

      Thanks for sharing. I am always curious as to what is available in the rest of the world. 😀

Leave a Reply

