Messing with Phone

5 Sep

I got a Samsung Note 3 phone some months back as a special treat for my birthday. Usually, I wouldn’t get such an expensive phone but I just love the S pen since the note series came out. I like how I can use the S pen to easily collect and make a scrapbook for design ideas. And also to sketch out ideas. Although I have not been doing the latter as often as I thought I would because I still prefer to sketch with a good old pencil and notebook.

Even when I’m outside, I am too embarrassed to doodle in public. And you understand why from this little doodle.

Sketch on Phone

I still need my Wacom bamboo tablet and laptop to do a more presentable piece. I suppose I still need more time to get use to drawing on the phone.

I have been longing for you

Now, I have paid more attention to the S Pen features and have left the phone at its default settings (e.g. the dark blue diamond texture wallpaper). But when my dad got me a new phone cover, I somehow feel inspired to dress up my phone with doodles too! So I have created a little doodle (using Wacom tablet of course!) of Rusty listening to music with big headphones and used it to decorate my lock screen and home screen. It just makes me smile every time I turn on the phone! 😀

Rusty Doodle Phone Home Screen Rusty Doodle Phone Lock Screen

Besides smiles, I also hope this little doodle reminds me how much I love to doodle and to continue to do what I love. Like how they cheer in South Korea, Rusty fighting!!! 

What do you have as your home screen or lock screen wallpaper? It is a good place to put a picture of your goal like your dream house or career or travel destination. Let me know in the comments below!

5 Responses to “Messing with Phone”

  1. l1or September 5, 2014 at 11:18 am #

    It’s funny how it can feel embarrassing to doodle in public yet it doesn’t feel embarrassing to publish your doodles online on the very public internet 😛 But I actually understand this completely – It’s a different kind of public when it’s in real life. On the internet, the public that find you are far more likely to be supportive since I guess most of them would have discovered you through a love of kawaii stuff.

    btw I write my “g”s exactly the same way you do with the backwards loop at the top!
    Love the wallpaper you made – so cute! 🙂 I like your idea to put something inspiring as your wallpaper. I guess the one I have is kinda inspiring coz it’s one of my favourite illustrations that inspires me to draw – it’s a “forever friends” teddy bear wallpaper (this one in case you’re curious: http://i943.photobucket.com/albums/ad280/Viki_23496/Best%20Friends/forever-friends-06.jpg )

    • rusty September 5, 2014 at 11:57 am #

      I didn’t think this through but now that you mentioned it, I think I am more embarrassed at the process of drawing in front of people. There was one time my friend asked me to doodle in front of her and I couldn’t do it. I am such a messy drawer without my wacom tablet and illustrator software. I will draw and erase many times. Still a distance from the pros. I think it will be so cool to have a stand at the streets and draw doodles for people. Let me practise more for that! 😀

      I am all right with people having a chuckle at my drawings like on the internet just not in my face. Lol.

      Thank you for sharing what’s on your wallpaper. I would love to see your drawings in the style of the “Forever friends” teddy bear! That would be some cheerful, bright and sweet! I think I am more of a pessimistic person by nature. I love the Tatty grey bear.

      • l1or September 5, 2014 at 12:26 pm #

        lol! yeh it takes me a lot of concentration and erasing to draw something on paper and make it look good. If I’m just having fun and doodling quickly, I’m a messy doodler too – looking at my doodles people would never know I do this for a living 😛 Thank goodness for wacom tablets and paint programs 😀

        haha tatty teddy is cute too! he always looks like he needs a hug!

  2. Carl D'Agostino September 5, 2014 at 6:01 pm #

    I am so out of the loop with this tech stuff. Cartoon blog and email height of my tech skills.

    • rusty September 5, 2014 at 10:19 pm #

      Hehe the tech stuff is just an optional skill. I admire your talent in humor and being able to come up with cartoons regularly for your blog!

Leave a Reply

