Captain America … No not really

9 Jun

Here is a new comic strip loosely adapted from the 2nd movie of the Captain America series, Captain America: The Winter Soldier! Spoilers ahead for anyone who hasn’t watch the movie.
captain america spoof part 1

captain america avengers spoof part 2

You know from my superpower post that I am pretty much a geek when it comes to superheroes.

Captain America however is a hero that doesn’t really click with me. I mean you all know how I am a skinny lad and Steve Rogers (Captain America) has the easy way out with the super soldier serum, transforming from a physically frail body into a super athletic with peak strength, agility and stamina. Hats off to Chris Evans for undergoing crazy training regime and diet to achieve the look for Captain America.

I don’t advocate violence but every time Captain America uses his shield against those bullets in the movie, I can’t help but wickedly wonder why don’t any of the henchmen shoot at Captain America’s legs. Is there something hypnotic about that shield or perhaps because the shield is a big moving object and its design resembles a bullseye so people has a natural tendency to aim at that?

And importantly for Captain America: The Winter Soldier movie, why didn’t the cops arrest Captain America at the end? Granted that he save the world but did you realise he is a thief. He stole a truck to drive to the S.H.I.E.L.D’s old base, broke in to the base, stole the “Falcon” wingpack and the Captain America war outfit from the museum.

This comic strip that took me quite a few days to do. It’s been a challenge coming up with so many different characters and trying to fit the story (including the “action scene”) that I had in mind, in as few frames as possible. But it is a fun experience since I love superheroes.

I hope you like it as much as I do! Do share the comic strip with your friends who are superhero geeks like me. 😀

2 Responses to “Captain America … No not really”

  1. Carl D'Agostino June 9, 2014 at 4:52 am #

    Every Super Hero has that Achilles Heels. You gotta get the bad guy first.

    • rusty June 9, 2014 at 10:53 pm #

      Haha you are right! I suppose having that Achilles Heel makes the hero more relatable. 😀

Leave a Reply

