Doodle Books

26 May

I was away for a short holiday getaway in Taipei at the beginning of this month which kinds of throw me off my work schedule. But it is worth it because I get to relax and rest my eyes instead of seating at the desk and staring at the computer the whole day. One of my greatest find in Taipei this trip is these two doodle books which I bought from Eslite Bookstore! They cost less than U$10 each after discount. One of them even comes with free markers! I love the books because of how the authors and illustrators simplify the process of doodling and the creative ways they use the doodles. Think it will help much in my doodling.

I hate to admit it as it sounds like a geeky moment but in my trip, I was at the Eslite Bookstore for like 3 times! I just love a giant bookstore where I can browse the afternoon away!  If the majority of the books are not in Chinese (I read very slowly in Chinese), I may have bought back many more books. So here are some photos of the books and a sneak peek of its content.

Doodle Books

2 Responses to “Doodle Books”

  1. l1or May 27, 2014 at 9:34 am #

    I was *just* thinking: “hmm I wonder when Rusty will add a new blog post” the other day and now I see you have!

    Glad to hear you had a fun and relaxing time in Taipei, and that you found some cool doodle books while you were there. That book looks very creative. Something I’ve been wanting to try is merging photos with doodles like they shoe on one of the pages you shared. I once saw someone who had a profile picture that contained a photo of himself sitting next to a cartoon doodle character, and he blended the colours and shadows so well that it looked really real – it made a really cool profile pic!

    Anyway, always nice to see a Rustydoodle post! : )

  2. rusty May 29, 2014 at 9:35 am #

    Thanks for keeping a lookout for a new post! 😛

    I do have a new strip in the works. I kind of over expanded on the storyline and came up with too many characters so I am still working on it during my spare time.

    Mixing different forms together is something I want to try too! It is sitting pretty in my to do list. 😀

    And it is always nice to hear from l1or!

Leave a Reply

