Starving Artist

15 Apr

Rusty Doodle - Starving Artist

Gosh I have disappeared for the whole of March! I started doodling the above comic strip since mid February but didn’t complete it till today. I have been focusing on making a living from doodling and it is hard work! I have to constantly yell at my procrastinating self to go away so that I can focus.

That reminded me of something that happened today. I was messaging my friends over Whatsapp around lunchtime and I was telling them that I was working on something and will be having my lunch at a later time. My friend was shocked and immediately asked “You found a job? How come I don’t know?”

Hey Peeps! Doodling IS my job! Although it is not like a conventional job. πŸ˜€

Back to the comic strip,Β the back story that inspired the strip was that one of my friends treated me to dinner for designing a business logo for her business. It is kind of like barter trade isn’t it? With no exchange of money, just doodles for food! But somehow, the starving artist idea came along, partially because of the notion that it is difficult to make money from art and also because I was hungry while doodling. Anyway, the ending changed to Rusty munching on the paper doodle of a hamburger instead. I actually did munch on paper when I was young because I was wondering if it taste good and what will my poo look like. I even suggested that my brother eat some paper too. I was a curious kid! Hey, curiosity is a gift… of sorts!

Hmm… I can’t remember though what the taste was like or how the poo turn out. But I don’t think I will want to experiment on it again.

Now did you ever munch on paper? I am pretty sure I ain’t the only weird one.Β πŸ™‚

6 Responses to “Starving Artist”

  1. iarxiv April 15, 2014 at 2:42 am #

    Hmm… Not sure I tried munching on paper deliberately, but I’m pretty sure I’ve had my share of accidental paper food πŸ™‚ Rusty’s hamburger looks yummy though!

    • rusty April 15, 2014 at 9:20 am #

      Thanks! Rusty tries to make the hamburger looks yummy to make up for it tasting like paper. Lol.

  2. Lior April 15, 2014 at 5:45 am #

    I remember there was this time in class, a bunch of us 8 year olds were curious and ripped up a big piece of white paper into teeny tiny little pieces and each of us tried a bit. As far as I remember it tasted bland and became chewy the more you chewed it – yummy… πŸ˜› Don’t think I’d recommend doing it today! I bet it’s full of all sorts of chemicals O_O

    • rusty April 15, 2014 at 9:26 am #

      Hehe. I think I was about 8 years old too when I ate paper. The age of curiosity!

      You are right! I will be hesitated to eat paper now. Especially, since I saw an episode of amazing race where they showed how they used elephant poo to make recycled paper. O_O

      But it is funny how more knowledge and awareness prevents or stifles us from doing something. πŸ˜€

      • Lior April 15, 2014 at 4:32 pm #

        elephant poo?? ewwwwww! lol!

        yeah! it’s so true! knowledge – a double-edged sword at times!

  3. Carl D'Agostino April 23, 2014 at 6:56 pm #

    I’ve heard of drawing conclusions but drawing lunch ? Now that is an art !

Leave a Reply

