5 Christmas songs that are not for kids

25 Dec

For December, I have been playing a lot of Christmas songs to get that festive vibe which make up for the lack of Christmas decorations in the house. I haven’t been paying much attention to the lyrics of Christmas songs, expecting all to be jolly and appropriate for kids. But boy, was I wrong once I take a closer look at the lyrics.

Here is my list of 5 good old Christmas songs (some which may be your favourites) which I deem NOT suitable for children.

Warning: This realization may affect how you view the Christmas songs so parental guidance is advised. 😀

Number 5 – I saw Mommy kissing Santa Claus

(lyrics)

I saw Mommy kissing Santa Claus
Underneath the mistletoe last night
She didn’t see me creep
down the stairs to have a peep;
She thought that I was tucked
up in my bedroom fast asleep

In traditional Asia family values, a kiss is a big sign of affection and love. So I must confess, for the longest time, I was wondering why is Mommy kissing Santa. Kissing someone other than her immediate family is a cause for alarm and especially traumatic for a kid who witness it all! I only realised much later that it was daddy who was dressed up as Santa and getting kissed by Mommy. There should be an explanation for kids at the end of the song you know. How are we *ahem* kids going to piece Santa and Dad together?

Number 4 – Santa Baby

The target audience for this tongue in cheek Christmas song is for adults so it is definitely not for children. We don’t want kids to grow up pursing too much materialistic needs right? The expensive Christmas check list include items like sable, a light blue 54 convertible, yacht, the deed to a platinum mine, duplex, signed checks, decorations bought at Tiffany’s and a ring.

Number 3 – Rudolph the red-nosed reindeer

(lyrics)

All of the other reindeer
used to laugh and call him names.
They never let poor Rudolph
join in any reindeer games.

Then one foggy Christmas Eve
Santa came to say:
“Rudolph with your nose so bright,
won’t you guide my sleigh tonight?”

Then all the reindeer loved him
as they shouted out with glee,
Rudolph the red-nosed reindeer,
you’ll go down in history!

This is one of my favourite Christmas songs which I hum along every Christmas. I am familiar with the chorus and know the reindeer’s name is Rudolph and that he has a bright red nose. But gosh, I never notice the verses that poor Rudolph is subject to bullying by the other reindeer. Where is Santa where Rudolph needs him? It is great that Rudolph is a reindeer with a big heart who is able to look past all that has happened and focus on the greater good of making all the kids in the world happy with safe Christmas deliveries.

However, someone pointed out that Rudolph should have walk away from all the bullying in the first place. He should find real friends who genuinely care about him and not be around people who just want to make use of him. Shame on you, all other reindeer!

Number 2 – Santa Claus Is Coming To Town

(lyrics)

He sees you when you’re sleeping
He knows when you’re awake
He knows if you’ve been bad or good
So be good for goodness sake!

O! You better watch out!
You better not cry
Better not pout
I’m telling you why
Santa Claus is coming to town

Don’t you think it is kind of creepy that Santa Claus is watching you when you are sleeping? Watch this video to get what I mean. No worries, it is not scary.

It borders on the line of a stalker in my opinion. What is even more disturbing is that parents sing this song to their kids and lock them in mentally that they need to behave because someone is watching them … all the time!

*Drums roll*

And the number one spot goes to …

Number 1 – I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas

(lyrics)

I want a hippopotamus for Christmas
Only a hippopotamus will do
Don’t want a doll, no dinky Tinker Toy
I want a hippopotamus to play with and enjoy

I want a hippopotamus for Christmas
I don’t think Santa Claus will mind, do you?
He won’t have to use our dirty chimney flue
Just bring him through the front door,
that’s the easy thing to do

Hippopotamus For Christmas

I heard this song for the first time this year and I am instantly in love with this happy little tune. But I can understand why parents all over the world will do whatever they can to keep this song from being popular with kids. I mean the song really do put forth very convincing and strong arguments why it is possible to have a hippopotamus for Christmas. Imagine the number of disappointed and crying children for Christmas when they get rejected by their parents for wanting a hippopotamus. Owning a pet is big responsibility!

If you have not heard this little tune before, catch it on this video!

So there you go! Here is my list of Christmas songs that you should keep away from children! Any other tunes that I have missed out? 🙂

