If Rusty has a Special Superpower …

21 Nov

With great power comes great responsibilityAfter a three week hiatus since the last post, I am back with a new comic strip! And with lots of Rusty to make up for it. How narcissistic can I be? Haha!

There are so many Marvel and superhero movies out there lately and I reckon I have watched most of them, the recent one being Thor: The Dark World. Growing up, I am a huge fan of the superhero cartoons and it is amazing how technology brings my childhood fantasies vividly into life.

Now of all the superheroes, my favourite superhero series is the X-men. The reason why X-men stands out for me is because the underlying theme talks about how the X-men and other people with special powers copes with being hated, despised and treated as outcasts just because they are different. And despite all the negativity towards them, the X-men find the heart to save the world. It may be a cartoon, but it provided me with lots of positive materials as a child and through my teenage years for serious topics on bullying, terrorism and the minority groups. My admiration for X-men also translated to hours of doodling of the X-men characters like Wolverine, Jean Grey, Storm that helped to build up my doodling skills. It also sparked my imagination to come up with my own characters and their own little back story.

Now there are many characters in the Marvel universe and I have many favourites. But the current superpower that I really, really, really like to have is Jamie Madrox aka Multiple Man’s self duplication! He can duplicate perfect copies of himself, each with an independent mind of his own. While Multiple Man may not be as famous a character to have a movie by himself but his power is just so handy for the real world! I mean it is awesome to look youthful forever with Wolverine’s regenerative power but his claws are probably going to get me arrested at the airport for illegal possession of weapons.

We are bound by the limitations of time each day. With self duplication, I can create a duplicate to work and explore on my long list of different interests. Then at the end of the day, we just need to merge back to one and I would gain all the memories, knowledge and skills acquired by each of them. Okay, I may come from the angle of personal gains which is a big no no for people with superpowers but I wasn’t aiming to be a superhero. Of course, then I thought of the possibility that since the duplicates are going to have independent minds of their own, they probably are not going to listen to me and end up exploring their own interests like how it happened in the comic strip. And I may land up having to pay for all the expenses for the duplicates. That kind of burst my bubble! No wonder “With great power comes great responsibility”.

Now what’s THE SUPERPOWER that you will like to have? And why? 😛

6 Responses to “If Rusty has a Special Superpower …”

  1. Grumpy November 21, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

    The SUPERPOWER I would like is…the ability to turn back time. Then you could undo regrettable events, and have the power to correct mistakes by winding back time. And how about an extra hour in bed every morning!

    • rusty November 21, 2013 at 11:12 pm #

      That is a cool power to beat the limitations of time! And an extra hour in bed every morning sounds so attractive! It will be a superpower that is beyond me though knowing how clumsy I am, I will probably trigger a massive butterfly effect by changing time and ruin the world. :p

  2. ayatannur November 21, 2013 at 10:05 pm #

    Awesome comic as usual 🙂 And it’s true with great power comes great responsibility…so I probably would like a simple super power like flying. But instead of a cape or anything like Superman, I’d use an invisibility cloak. Yup, that’d be an awesome combo 🙂

    • rusty November 22, 2013 at 8:51 am #

      You are absolutely right! One may be better off choosing a simple super power to be better in control. Flying will be exhilarating! Seeing the sights from such a height! You got to take the invisibility cloak from Harry Potter. 😀

  3. l1or November 21, 2013 at 10:36 pm #

    hahaha loved this comic! silly clones having minds of their owns 😛

    If I had to choose a super-power, I guess it would be super-speed flying so that I could get to anywhere in the world in a second! I enjoy the superhero movies these days, but I was never a big fan of superhero comics as a child (I think I was too much of a girly girl to like them when I was little) – I did really like more girly comics like “Archie”, and later the cute & quirky “Fluffy” (by Simone Lia), and the romantic “True Story Swear to God”.

    • rusty November 22, 2013 at 9:06 am #

      The clones are actually smarter than the original. 😀

      With super speed flying, you will be like a shooting star across the sky!

      I like Archie comics as a child too! But they were kind of pricey for my little allowance. My aunt is very nice to buy them for me during book fairs. I just took a glance at Fluffy, what adorable doodles!

Leave a Reply

