Rusty Doodle is a Bathroom Singer

18 Oct
Rusty Singing in the Bathroom with Rubber Ducky

Rusty Singing in the Bathroom with Rubber Ducky

Not to worry, I wasn’t going to show any naughty bits for a shower picture! Everything has been tactically hidden. 😀

I drew the above picture a few months ago (you can tell from the old drawing style) but as always, I got distracted along the way till I finally remembered about it and published the squidoo page which it is meant for – “Top cover songs from my favourite youtube singers“.

Music is a huge part in my life. I took classical piano lessons for several years,  learned guitar for 2 years (unfortunately I am not good with either of that because I hate to practise the same song till it is polished) and now while I am doodling full time, I find myself listening to more music than ever as it helps me to concentrate and inspires me. I reckon I listen to music about 6 hours a day now!

Secretly, I love to sing too! And I would sing in the bathroom all the time and belt the songs at the top of my voice during my “rebellious teenage years” because the bathroom has the best acoustics in the house. Alright, I no longer belt the sounds now (except at a karaoke room) because I realised that our walls are actually paper thin, and the neighbours and my family didn’t enjoy my free performance as much as I do. My dad would even ask me to shut up when I attempted to sing some rock songs. Granted that a rubber ducky voice for a rock song may not be the best blend but it is a worthwhile experiment. Oh well.

I never sing thinking that I will ever be a pop idol because my voice forbids me. Although I do think they may need my unique singing voice for cartoon characters. *winks and waves at the production team for minions*

To me singing is simply such a fun and therapeutic activity notwithstanding whether one is good at it. When I am happy, I can hum a dance tune, snap my fingers and do a happy dance. When I am angry, I can roar out out some rock songs (note to self: to muffle the noise with a towel or pillow) to let out all the negative energy. When I am depressed, I can choose an emotional song to express what I am going through with the song’s lyrics which I may not do as well with words. If it is up to me, all offices and work places should have mandatory singing breaks at least twice a day for employees’ well being and happiness. 😛

So start singing today! If you need some song ideas or free music, you can drop by my page – “Top cover songs from my favourite youtube singers“.

And on that note (pun intended), I am off for karaoke. 😀

5 Responses to “Rusty Doodle is a Bathroom Singer”

  1. l1or October 18, 2013 at 11:17 pm #

    It’s funny how when you’re young you think a wall means no-one can hear you – I had the same thing. When I was little I also thought if I was in the garden by myself singing no-one could hear me because of all the “covering noise” from the rustling trees / wind etc and used to really belt it out, unaware the whole neighbourhood could probably hear.. so embarrassing!! btw – so brave of you to do karaoke!

    Your music-listening habits sound a lot like mine when I just started graphic design work. Before starting to work, it used to be like a listen here and there in the car or on airplane journeys but once I started working it went to like 6 hours a day! btw I dont know if you’ll find it interesting to use (maybe?), but I personally found last.fm to be a good place to record your music-listening habits. These days I don’t listen to music quite that many hours – I alternate music with listening to tv, youtube, podcasts, radio & audiobooks : )

  2. rusty October 18, 2013 at 11:44 pm #

    Hehe. I am just back from karaoke with a tired throat! It is fun to be young because that is when we are fearless because the less we know, the less things to stop us! 😀

    Hmm… I am not sure how karaoke is like over at UK but in Singapore and the Asia countries that I have been to, it is a karaoke box style which is a small individual room with the karaoke facilities. So as long as I don’t belt too loudly, the public wouldn’t be able to hear my singing. I will just goof around and sing with my close friends. There are also those karaoke lounge areas too but I don’t have the courage to sing at those areas. 😀

    Haha that is an interesting little website that you post. Coldplay and Owl City is in my playlist some time back. Shall give those other artists in your list a try! I have a hunch I will like them. 😀

    • l1or October 19, 2013 at 3:01 am #

      In the UK we have both the small-room-with-friends karaoke (I think they call it “Japanese-style”) and the scary-giant-room-full-of-strangers karaoke – but to be honest with you I’m too shy to sing in front of anyone – even if its only in a tiny-room with friends >_< It does look fun though if shyness weren't an issue : )

      Let me know if you join last.fm – I'll add you as a friend on there if you do 🙂

  3. Carl D'Agostino October 19, 2013 at 1:22 am #

    Great cartoons. Perhaps feature you on a Wednesday guest post on my blog. Stay in touch.

    • rusty October 19, 2013 at 11:26 am #

      Thank you Carl! 🙂

Leave a Reply

