Art Comes In Many Forms – Playing with Shadows

28 Sep

Yesterday, I came across this touching audition of Attraction, a Hungarian shadow theatre dance group. The group eventually won Season 7 of Britain’s Got Talent reality TV show.

Their performance may be based on a simple story but the story of love, war and losing a loved one is something very close to people’s hearts. Together with the interesting use of shadows formed with their bodies, the flawless coordination of the dance members and a beautiful track of “Read All About It” by Emeli Sande, everything just falls nicely in place and tugs at one’s heart strings.

After watching the performance, I was so inspired that I have this image of an angel who is tired and is resting on the ground with her knees crouched to her chest. I have no idea why but I suppose the angel is tired from maybe all the fighting by humans. It was midnight when I watched the video but I have this urge that I just need to draw it out. I completed the drawing and even the colouring in about 1 hour while listening to the music of “Read All About It” again and again. Today, I spent another hour tidying up the drawing, listening to what else, the same track of course! I must have played the song for like 50 times now.

drawing on an angelArt comes in many forms. As long as you have a clear vision of it, you can create it. 🙂

6 Responses to “Art Comes In Many Forms – Playing with Shadows”

  1. Grumpy September 28, 2013 at 2:39 pm #

    This is not a show that I would normally watch on TV, so thanks for the video link. Very moving and inspiring.

    • rusty September 28, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

      I don’t follow that show either. 😀
      I was just listening to music on Youtube when I noticed the side panel that has a video titled Simon Cowell cry – Attraction Semi Final. That caught my eye. 😛
      All 3 of their performances on the show are good with the one in my post my favourite!

  2. l1or September 28, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

    I saw it when it was on tv here and was in (good) tears by the end.. and was an instant fan both of Attraction (& Black Light Theatre in general!) and of the song too! It’s awesome feeling inspired 🙂 The angel drawing suits the song : )

    • rusty September 28, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

      Thank you l1or!

      Because of Attraction, I took a look at the other acts of their season like Jack Carroll, the 14 year old comedian and Steven Hewlett the Ventriloquist and there were good too! Had a good chuckle.

  3. warmginger September 29, 2013 at 12:16 am #

    Okay Rusty, I’m clearly going to have to adopt you! Watched this with the boys a couple of months ago (my son had watched it at school) and we loved it too. I love your angel and the caption to go with it.

    • rusty September 29, 2013 at 1:09 am #

      Wow, it is really great that they are showing it in school! That are really good learning points in their performances like the message of peace. I also like how their performance transcends language and age barriers.

      And I am happy that you like the drawing! 😀

Leave a Reply

