Doodling All My Life

8 Sep

Lately, in a conversation with my youngest brother on my doodling career, something interesting came up.

It goes something like this…

Brother: I have no idea why you stuck with your last job for so long.

Me: Why is that?

Brother: I mean all your life you have been drawing. It is weird that you will give up drawing and go with something that you don’t really like.

Me: Really?

Brother: Yeah. In fact, your drawings are what inspired me to pursue drawing too.

Me: <Turns all mushy>

Mushy Rusty

Okay the above image is an exaggeration! But crazy exaggeration aside, my youngest brother is the best artist among us. I really have no clue till the other day that I was the one that gave him the inspiration to pursue art. Β That felt really good that my past drawings actually inspired one person. And when I myself lacks the confidence in my artwork from time to time, my brother actually thinks that I am dreaming too small and should be even more ambitious in my pursue of my passion.

Indeed, if I think back, I did spent a lot of time doodling or exploring some art medium. Heck, I would even turn my school projects or occasions into an art exercise. For example, I remembered in my secondary school days, we were tasked to do a poetry assignment. However, I turned it into an arts and crafts assignment, spending more time decorating the assignment instead of the poetry. And when I need to say farewell to my college classmates because of graduation, I hand drew and made bookmarks for them.

Unfortunately, there was a point in time where I thought I wouldn’t never make anything useful with my drawings and threw away lots of my doodles that actually are a part of my happy and fond memories through the years. It is a regret that I have to live with.

Here are some of my old artworks using just pencil and pen that I did managed to capture on photo:

Did you see the card game that we made? When we were young, our parents never buy much toys or games for us and we don’t have much pocket money either. So whenever we played games belonging to our cousins or friends, we will be secretly envious of their games. But that kind of sparked our creativity to make our own games which means lots of doodling and using our mattress and blankets to form imaginary castles! Those were fun times that bonded us brothers together! Maybe I should develop a game for my next project! πŸ˜€

Now, what have you been doing all your life? πŸ™‚

4 Responses to “Doodling All My Life”

  1. l1or September 8, 2013 at 3:17 am #

    it looks like creativity runs in your family πŸ™‚ (I find this is true with my family too!) now I’m curious to see your brother’s art too! haha! Like you, I also think that drawing is the thing I’ve done all my life – I think it started when I was really little (like 3 or 4), when I’d get bored, my mum would encourage me to draw a picture for her, and she used to be very encouraging and complimentary when it was finished, and put it on the fridge! Since then, whenever I felt bored and didn’t have an idea for what to do, drawing was always the first thing that came to mind!

    awesome you found some old art – that drawing of the girl looks like it could be used for fashion design! – it’s fun to look back on things you’ve created in the past sometimes (I have a gallery of my favourite / best old stuff on on of my facebook photo albums too for reminiscing.)

    woah that game looks like it has a lot of thought behind it! so many cards! cool idea to develop a game for a next project – as long as it feels like it could be fun, why not? πŸ™‚

    • rusty September 8, 2013 at 9:47 am #

      Thank you for sharing your story! It is great to have parents to support your craft!

      My brother has some formal arts training. He has an art portfolio and can visualise the 3d perspective of things (from his mechanical design education) which is something I have problem with. He is thinking of putting some of his designs on Zazzle and has “tasked” me to do all the setting up of stores and stuff. When it is up, I have share with you. πŸ˜€

      It is spot on how you pointed out that it could be used for fashion design. When I drawn that picture, I was in the phase when I thought it will be really awesome to be a fashion designer, having watched too many episodes of project runaway.

      The game in the picture is actually based on a popular game called “Magic, the gathering”. Yes, developing a game is possible now with print on demand companies that make board games! It is really amazing what is out there!

  2. Nita September 8, 2013 at 9:15 am #

    Now we know why you can improve your (and your brother’s) creativity and imagination πŸ™‚ You’ve been doing it in every moment of your life. And I like the ‘Really?’ image up there πŸ™‚

    • rusty September 8, 2013 at 9:49 am #

      Hehe, Thank you! Glad you like mushy Rusty. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

