Rusty Supports Singapore’s Boccia Players

6 Sep

 

 

I am excited to share on 2 designs that I have been working on secretly as far back as June but didn’t mention it because they are not released yet. They are the t-shirt designs on Boccia! The picture below is not illustrated by me though.

Singapore Boccia T-shirts Design

So far, I rarely did custom requests because I already have a backlog of designs ideas in my notebook to work on.

However, I couldn’t resist coming up with the 2 T-shirt designs because one, it is for the fund raising event for our Singapore’s Boccia Players. With a wonderful debut at London 2012 Paralympic Games that did Singapore proud, I am looking forward to their performance for the 2016 games and designing is what I know best to show my support. Second reason is because my friend is in the Singapore Boccia team. And third, I did have a visualisation of how the design will look when my friend approached me on it so it is not too difficult to put together.

A little background on Boccia. It is a precision sport where the players’ objective is to land leather balls of their colour (red or blue) nearest to a target ball called the jack. With that in mind, I just thought of the movement of the boccia ball and also how a ramp is used sometimes to deliver the ball which resulted in the design for the red T-shirt. The grunge effect for the design which is not so observable in the picture is to communicate the gritty spirit and determination.

For me, it is a valuable and rewarding experience learning to do custom designs.

Hope the designs work out for the fund raising!

3 Responses to “Rusty Supports Singapore’s Boccia Players”

  1. l1or September 6, 2013 at 8:09 am #

    wow how cool you got to design something so official! 🙂 I’ve never heard of Boccia until now so was interested to read your explanation of what it is. I hope these sell like hot cakes! where will they be available to buy?

    • rusty September 6, 2013 at 9:07 am #

      Yeah, I am really glad to have the opportunity. Originally, there was supposed to be an event this weekend at a sports complex for the fund raising. But I guess the T-shirt sizing is an issue because it is hard to estimate the numbers to print for each size. So the organisers decided to collate the orders for print instead. Economically smart choice! 😀

      • l1or September 6, 2013 at 11:33 am #

        ah cool : )

Leave a Reply

