Where did the Fresh Air Go?

20 Jun

Comic Strip on Haze SingaporeLately, the haze condition in Singapore is horrible. The PSI which indicates the air quality in Singapore hits an all time high of 321. The values of the PSI and its indication of air quality is as follows:

  • 0 – 50: Good
  • 51 – 100: Moderate
  • 101 – 200: Unhealthy
  • 201 – 300: Very unhealthy
  • Above 300: Hazardous

It is actually Hazardous to breathe in air!!! Indeed, there is a burning smell in the air and I can feel that I am breathing in smog which is causing irritations to my nose and throat. I am resorted to shutting most of the windows and wearing a face mask even in my own room because I do not have air conditioning in my house.

For photos of the haze situations (aka the big blur of everything on the streets), visit the photos at Yahoo Singapore.

This haze issue unfortunately is a yearly affair which we are at the mercy of our neighbour, Indonesia. While forest fires that happen on its own due to dry season is understandable, fires started by farmers who slash and burn the crops just to clear the land for cultivation for commercial reasons and not caring the health implications they bring for so many others is inhumane. Please care for people!

We can only hope for a heavy rain to come soon to wash away the smog.

Come Back Fresh Air!!!

8 Responses to “Where did the Fresh Air Go?”

  1. warmginger June 20, 2013 at 12:45 am #

    Gosh, I want to tell you to not breathe!

    • rusty June 20, 2013 at 12:53 am #

      Haha that will the end of this blogger!

  2. l1or June 20, 2013 at 3:02 am #

    O_O

    … time for a holiday abroad? 😀

    • rusty June 20, 2013 at 7:14 am #

      I am actually thinking of getting an air purifier. Sigh…

      • l1or June 20, 2013 at 8:00 am #

        Sounds like a good idea, especially if this kind of thing is a regular occurence year after year. Also I am surprised to hear your house doesn’t have air conditioning. In the UK it’s sort of expected not to have it since we rarely have weather hotter than 20°C, but I dont know how you are surviving without one in a place where >25°C is normal! >_<'

      • rusty June 20, 2013 at 8:17 am #

        Hmm… my dad has brainwashed us since young that air conditioning isn’t good for our health. The electricity bill from air conditioning is steep too. So I guess I am just used to it with just the ceiling fan. When I go for overseas trips, I find it too cold in the hotel rooms and have a hard time sleepy and will need to wear a jacket to sleep. Haha!

        There are days though where it is exceptionally hot and humid and I will be sweating even after a bath. 😛

  3. l1or June 20, 2013 at 8:35 am #

    you’ve evolved to adapt thanks to your dad – That’s useful! 🙂

    I’ve never slept with an outdoor jacket but I have slept with several layers and a hoodie AND a thick duvet before! kinda hard to think about it in June though *feels hot just thinking about it* 😀

  4. Nita June 20, 2013 at 11:32 am #

    I feel so sorry about it, Rusty… This isn’t suppose to be happened again and again to people around Sumatera and our neighbor countries 😦 I believe the people here and the government had tried to reduce this irresponsible corps burning, but not good enough… I myself hope there will be a massive change (in a good way) about it in the future years.

Leave a Reply

