11 Fun Facts about Rusty Doodle (Part 6): What should we have for dinner?

1 May

Comic Strip on Japanese Food

Whenever my friends have no idea what to have for dinner, I will sneakily and shamelessly suggest Japanese cuisine because fun fact number 2 – I love Japanese Food!

I don’t remember when exactly did Japanese Food came about to become one of my favourite cuisines. It could have started off with sushi which my Aunt would buy for us from the supermarkets back when we were young. As a kid and even now, it is fascinating to see balls of rice topped with colourful ingredients. My favourite is the tamago (egg) sushi for its bright yellow and the sweetness of the egg. While it is not exactly too difficult to make your own sushi ( I actually tried it 3 years ago and made my own tamago sushi), the number of steps to make it however is just too tedious whereby I would rather get it from the supermarket. Gratitude for those who cook full time!

Back at my previous job, I would have Japanese food every other day. Not that I eat at Japanese restaurants all the time. Rather, there are various options available. For instance, there are two dingy Japanese eateries near the office, one serves a delicious marinated salmon sashimi don (rice bowl in Japanese) and the other is managed by a Japanese home cook. There is also the supermarket with its sushi, onigiri and bento boxes options. One of the perks of my previous job, the many food options available.

Hence, in my defence, I didn’t really mean to suggest Japanese food to my friends every other time that we meet, it is just harder to have Japanese food now that I am working from home. So friends, please make it easier for me next time, just suggest Japanese food so that I feel less guilty! Haha.

Do you like Japanese food? And what’s your favourite Japanese food? 🙂

7 Responses to “11 Fun Facts about Rusty Doodle (Part 6): What should we have for dinner?”

  1. Irene @ In A Different Place May 1, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

    I’m craving sushis and sashimis right now after reading your post!

    • rusty May 1, 2013 at 11:13 pm #

      Oops.. I do hope it is accessible for you to have some! I have plans tomorrow to get some sushi. 🙂

  2. angriestpear May 2, 2013 at 5:48 am #

    I feel the same way about Japanese food, but I eat it so rarely anymore. Salmon sashimi and tempura are my favorites too. Also eel and avacodo sushi if I can find it.

    • rusty May 3, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

      Interestingly, I became a fan for avocado from Japanese hand rolls and Japanese Salad! Do you like avocado because it looks like a pear? ^^

  3. warmginger May 2, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

    I have a youngest child who is a bit fussy when it comes to food, but will happily wolf down whole platters of sushi. He loves it.
    Oh, my eldest loved your cartoon last night by the way. 😀

    • rusty May 3, 2013 at 12:28 pm #

      How I wish my parents will buy platters of sushi for me when I was young. I think if my parents feed me constantly with sushi and Japanese food, I would have been more average size! It’s a shame that my parents don’t appreciate Japanese food as much as me though. Haha!
      I can’t tell you how awesome I feel that your kid actually like my cartoon! 🙂 🙂 🙂

      • warmginger May 3, 2013 at 6:28 pm #

        He’s currently making his own little flip books. He’s got a bit of work to do before he gets to your standard though, so I’ll keep sharing your stuff and inspiring him!

Leave a Reply

