Went Fishing for Squid

14 Mar

Cute cartoon on Squidoo

Are you thinking, “What is he doing? Shouldn’t Rusty be busy with his products launch? Why did he went fishing? And even weirder, why fish for squid of all things?”

Maybe I was thinking of making squid ink pasta, you know the pasta where everything is all black? Hehe, I am joking. I have not tried squid ink pasta before.

Things are still hectic so fishing is out of the cards! However, I do hope to try prawning at those prawn fishing farms. I think it should be a fun bonding activity with a group of friends, fishing for prawns and later on barbecuing the prawns together.

Rather, after I completed my part for the product launch (pending my friend to complete the rest like product description and to upload to his website), I am back to doodling and doing promotions for my Zazzle store.

And to increase the reach out of my doodles to more people, a mini project that I undertook for the past week is joining Squidoo and writing a lens on it. For those of you who know about Squidoo, you would have spotted that the orange squid in my doodle above to be the mascot for Squidoo! Well, if you ask me I think the mascot looks more like an octopus though.

For everyone else who is not familiar with Squidoo, I would sum it up as a free platform for people to write on any topic and as a bonus, earn a token royalty each month (a form of passive income) if what they write is well received. Did your eyes lit up when I say royalties? From what I get gathered from others, it is a legit platform and people do receive royalties from what they write. And a cool thing is the writers are even given the option to donate their earnings or a portion of their earnings to charities of their choice. But like any other real opportunities, it is not a get rich scheme. Hard work needs to be put in to creating the lens (Squidoo creator calls the articles and stories written as lens to reflect how they are written through the writer’s own lens of viewing things).

I am not a good writer so I am not expecting to make a living from Squidoo. However, it seems to be a decent platform to build exposure for my doodles. For my first lens, I wrote on something that is close to heart, about how I made the switch to work for passion and how I have been trying to make a living out from my passion for the past 6 months (specifically Zazzle).

If you can spare the time, do drop by http://www.squidoo.com/switching-to-work-for-passion and let me know what you think about my first lens! 

8 Responses to “Went Fishing for Squid”

  1. l1or March 14, 2013 at 10:10 am #

    hey Rusty, nice lens you wrote there! also I’m sure you made a lot of other zazzlers happy by featuring some of their work.

    • rusty March 14, 2013 at 11:16 am #

      Thank you! I do what I can cause I know it is tough on Zazzle.

      I saw some time back that you are working on a new blog. Still busy working on it?

      • l1or March 15, 2013 at 1:08 am #

        yes I have 2 websites and still working on both 🙂 (although new articles are quite infrequent these days because there are so many different things to keep going with zazzle and squidoo and all the other projects at the same time!)

      • rusty March 15, 2013 at 8:48 am #

        Agreed. I am trying to figure out how to juggle my time among Zazzle, Squidoo, this blog and the product launch. And still I want to do some other things. Haha!!

  2. warmginger March 14, 2013 at 11:53 am #

    A good piece – and I loved all your designs on zazzle. LOL at the hedgehogs being your bestsellers. Whenever my husband buys me a card, it seems to have cute hedgehogs on it!

    • rusty March 14, 2013 at 1:32 pm #

      Thank you!

      I think it is a guy’s thing on the hedgehog. Haha!

  3. Lin Mei March 18, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

    Jia you Rusty! 🙂

    • rusty March 18, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

      Thank you Lin Mei!

Leave a Reply

