Is the glass half empty or half full?

1 Mar

 

Remember how I posted about using Quick Create in Zazzle to put my designs on more products. Yesterday, I realised that I didn’t choose a particular option in the Quick Create process which affects the ease of customisation for customers. And ease of customisation is actually quite an important deciding factor for purchase in Zazzle.

To rectify the problem, I need to re-create the products and delete the old ones. On the other hand, all the marketing and promotional activities that I have done for the old products would be gone and it is going to be a huge effort to do it again. As my mind is going back and forth trying to work out the pros and cons on the course of action and kicking myself for making such a mistake that affects about 300 products, it suddenly hit me…

“I am overthinking and simply procrastinating

on what I knew I should be doing! ”

What I am trying to say is, sometimes we already knew the course of action to take but we just delay taking action by saying we need more time to figure things out because we dread the efforts that we need to put in. Yet things are solved the sooner we start instead of delaying.

So I bit the bullet and comb through the 300 products and make the necessary corrections. And I did whatever marketing and promotional activities I could yesterday to cover what I have lost. It is a tough day yesterday but I got through it! Not to mention, the whole thing inspired the doodle above! ๐Ÿ™‚

7 Responses to “Is the glass half empty or half full?”

  1. l1or March 1, 2013 at 3:26 pm #

    ahh that sucks when that happens. I remember once I made 100 products carefully with one design that I didn’t notice had something wrong with it until I’d spent like 2 hours making all the products (the problem only showed up when I boosted the brightness on my screen to abnormal levels) and I had to go back and do it all again! luckily, once this happens once, it makes the lesson you’ve learned stick better! for me, now I always check the design at different brightness levels and for you, I bet now you’ll always remember about adding the template customization next time!

    • rusty March 1, 2013 at 11:55 pm #

      Eek. I think you just suggested something that I should watch out for! Never think of checking things on different brightness levels.

      Unfortunately, I still forget to choose the right option. Been doing the “wrong” way for too long and need to kick the habit. Grrghhh…

  2. aBadgr March 2, 2013 at 4:05 am #

    What did you use to design this particular piece! Photoshop? Illustrator?

    • rusty March 2, 2013 at 8:39 am #

      I use illustrator and a wacom tablet to design this piece. I am still pretty bad at photoshop.

  3. BeWithUs March 15, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

    Was laughing my head off when I read the doodle…love it!!! At times, we need all those extra hard work in order to find some lovely humour in life…Keep it up!! Cheers~ ๐Ÿ˜€

    • rusty March 16, 2013 at 12:11 am #

      Glad that it made you laughed! Makes me happy thinking that my doodles has that effect! Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • BeWithUs March 17, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

        You’re welcome! Who can resist a good laugh?

        Cheers~ ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

