11 Fun Facts about Rusty Doodle (Part 5): Something Wicked

25 Feb

Wow, when will the 11 Fun Facts series ever end?

Here is Fun fact number 4!

Comic Strip on flying thin people

Wait a minute, I shared in fun fact number 5 that I was scrawny already. That is old stuff!

Nah, I ain’t that forgetful! Fun fact number 4 is about my favourite musical – Wicked: The Untold Story of the Witches of Oz. First, I must admit that Wicked is one of the very few musicals that I have been to (musicals are expensive in Singapore), so it doesn’t mean much to call it my favourite musical. But it is so wicked that I doubt I will find another musical more entertaining than it. Yet aside from the brilliant songs and funny lines, there are meaningful messages behind the musical. No offence to all other musicals out there.

For those familiar with Wizard of Oz where it follows the story of Dorothy, a little girl, and how she triumphs the Wicked Witch of the West, Wicked will change your perspective as it tells the story from the perspective of the witch.

Without giving any spoilers that may ruin the storyline for anyone planning to catch Wicked, let me just share one of the messages that I particularly like for Wicked. That is, to believe in yourself and follow your calling even if the whole world thinks it is not going to work. Here are parts of the lyrics from the song, “Defying Gravity”, which capture the essence of the message and resonate so much with me:

—–

Verse:

“I’m through accepting limits

’cause someone says they’re so

Some things I cannot change

But till I try, I’ll never know!”

Chorus:

It’s time to try

Defying gravity

I think I’ll try

Defying gravity

And you can’t pull me down!

—–

It totally reflects how I feel, leaping into a doodling journey, working for passion instead of money, defying expectations of what some others have of me, and following my own route. And not withstanding whether eventually my doodling journey is successful or not (I still wish for it to be successful though), I am really glad that I have tried and not live second guessing the “what ifs” by not trying. I am also thankful that I have supportive friends, family, fellow bloggers & cartoonists and readers who held me up to defy gravity!

For anyone who is at the cross roads not knowing what to do, I suggest giving the song a listen. Who knows, it may inspire you somehow.

So tell me, isn’t it wicked? 🙂

2 Responses to “11 Fun Facts about Rusty Doodle (Part 5): Something Wicked”

  1. l1or February 25, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    I think Defying Gravity is my favourite song from Wicked. I like how you found meaning in the song! I tend to usually just listen to the tune and not to the words so thanks for pointing out the inspirational message within it! : )

    If you ever get a chance I also recommend seeing the musicals Mamma Mia, Singing in the Rain and Joseph and his Technicoloured Dreamcoat – they’re all really fun.

    • rusty February 26, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

      Actually, I don’t pay attention to the lyrics either. I usually fall in love with the melody first, then I will look for the lyrics to attempt to sing along.

      I would love to catch another musical some day! Thank you for the recommendations!

Leave a Reply

