Happy Chinese New Year!

9 Feb

Chinese New Year 2013 is the year of the Snake so here’s my little doodle greeting!

Cartoon Chinese New Year Greeting

Chinese New Year is a mixed bag for me!

I do look forward to my house to be at its neatest and cleanest state for the year! And I absolutely like the nice steamboat reunion dinner time with my family members. Well, we may be having dinner at home most of the time, but we rarely eat dinner at the same setting so the reunion dinner is extra special!

On the other hand, there are the zealous uncles and aunties who are going Β to question my love life, my career etc which are always tough to answer, especially this year since I have switched to doodling. Wonder what kind of reactions I am going to get. But who knows, their reactions may trigger some funny doodles…

Anyway, Happy Chinese New Year! πŸ™‚

 

7 Responses to “Happy Chinese New Year!”

  1. kawaiisquared February 9, 2013 at 11:05 pm #

    Happy Chinese New Year Rusty! πŸ™‚

    (PS sorry if this is a silly question but for us foreigners, what is a “steamboat” reunion dinner and why do you have this on New Year?)

    • rusty February 9, 2013 at 11:40 pm #

      Thank you!!

      Right, I forgot that steamboat is a term that is used in Singapore! I reckon that it is called steamboat because of the steam coming out of the pot and the shape of the pot. I think different cultures in Asia have their own variations to it. For example, in Japan, it is called Shabu Shabu. Essentially, it is a hot pot of stock (e.g chicken, fish, spicy base) which is kept simmering and placed at the centre of the table. Ingredients like thinly sliced meat, leaf vegetables, mushrooms, seafood are placed into the pot and are cooked at the table and one just use chopsticks to pick the things that like to eat.

      The cooked food is usually eaten with a dipping sauce. Personally, I like soya sauce mixed with sesame oil and spring onions. πŸ™‚

      A reunion dinner at Chinese New Year is a time for family members to gather together. It is not a must to eat hot pot for the reunion dinner. It just happens to be a tradition for our family each year and therefore holds lots of memories for me. It is simple to prepare and it is kind of cosy to gather around the hotpot. Usually the meal is a good feast so as to symbolise abundance, prosperity, good fortune and everything auspicious for the rest of the year! Good stuff! Lol.

      • kawaiisquared February 10, 2013 at 5:58 am #

        ahh thanks for explaining it – sounds like delicious family fun! ^_^

  2. warmginger February 10, 2013 at 1:35 am #

    Happy New Year!

    • rusty February 10, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

      Thank you! πŸ™‚

  3. Mr Oh February 13, 2013 at 6:43 am #

    Looks like you’ve charmed this Chinese New Year good and proper. That bodes well, my friend.

    • rusty February 13, 2013 at 10:50 am #

      Lol that is my indeed my wish for the new year, Mr Oh! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

