11 Fun (or Useless) Facts about Rusty Doodle – Part 3

6 Feb

Double comic strips for fun facts number 6 and 7!

Comic Strip on Teeth and Braces

In case you are wondering what those hideous things are in the mouth… Fun fact number 6 – I wore dental braces when I was younger to straighten and align my crooked teeth. At my time, it was awkward to smile showing my teeth with those metal pieces. Come on, don’t you think those things look like the mini version mouth piece of what Bane wore in Batman? It is going to scare people away if I smile. Of course, now we have Katy Perry in the video “Last Friday Night” who actually makes it cool and hip to wear braces.

Most people who I am acquitted with after I took off my braces, have no idea that I wore braces before. It is not because my teeth look all natural but because my teeth are still crooked! Well, the bottom half of my teeth are crooked, though much better than before the procedure.

That is because even after one removes the braces, one is supposed to put on a retainer (a removable wire piece that holds the realigned teeth in position) for a few years. I didn’t put the retainer on for the stipulated time as it kind of resembled dentures and you can imagine the weird looks I get every time I take the retainer out for cleaning in public washrooms.

And to make things worse, I have 4 wisdom teeth that only start to protrude out and fight for space after removing the braces. Argh~

Moving on…

Comic Strip on Dentists and Pain
Fun fact number 7 – Secretly (not so secret now since I post this on the blog), I am wary of dentists!

I am sure dentists are genuinely friendly and nice people but gosh the whole setting’s resemblance to psychopaths in a movie scene slowly torturing his victim is uncanny.

I mean just picture this…

I am reclined on a chair with high arm rests where I couldn’t toss and turn much like a restrained victim. The dentist is dressed in a cold white coat. He puts on the latex gloves and face mask. Next, he chooses from his array of tools like dental drills, extraction forceps, anaesthetic syringes, probes, mouth pieces etc. Happy with his selection, he asks me to open my mouth wide and proceeds to invade my mouth.

With the spotlight shining on my mouth, I could only make out a looming silhouette with a pair of eyes staring intently at me. I can feel the pressure of a metal piece pressing at my teeth and I clutch on to the arm rest. I think I taste latex, metal and a tinge of blood. I have no idea what the dentist is doing to my teeth even though he is trying his best to explain the procedure as he proceeds. All I could hear is the sound of drilling echoing in my head and inner voice begging the procedure to stop.

And like the victim in the movie scene, I am going to pass out from the torture when suddenly I remember “Oh crap, did I check for bogey in my nose? That ain’t a pleasant sight if I didn’t.” Then I am snapped back to reality.

🙂

7 Responses to “11 Fun (or Useless) Facts about Rusty Doodle – Part 3”

  1. Nita February 7, 2013 at 12:27 am #

    When my second wisdom tooth began to protrude out, it was torturing–a lot. Right after the dentist took it, the pain went away–immediately. Feel glad, but don’t ask how many anesthetic injections she gave me, I still can feel the needle that inserted into my gum! Eww.

    • rusty February 7, 2013 at 12:49 am #

      Yeah, I totally get you on the wisdom tooth thing. I took out 2 of my wisdom teeth on the left side cause one of them started to give me problems. The wisdom tooth experience is scary cause the lower one needed surgery and I can still feel the pressure exerted on my teeth. I can’t imagine going through that procedure without anaesthetic.

      And to add why I have trusting issues with dentists. Originally, the dentist recommended me to remove all 4 wisdom teeth at one go so that I only need to go through this once and the way she described it sounds like it is going to be a breeze. It is nothing like what she described. I pray that the 2 wisdom teeth on my right be good so I can avoid the experience.

  2. Nita February 7, 2013 at 1:08 am #

    I know the feeling. Now I only had the last wisdom tooth that haven’t came out. The first one was coming out peacefully, but two others were making tense. The same hope as you, I pray this last one will be just fine 🙂

  3. Ziya Tamesis February 7, 2013 at 1:56 am #

    I can relate to all of this. Needed braces TWICE because I didn’t wear my retainer after the first time. The second time I said upfront right away that if I had something I could take out of my mouth I wouldn’t wear it; I needed a permanent retainer. The orthodontist didn’t listen to me, so though I have the permanent retainer now my bottom teeth aren’t as straight as they could be, and my upper canines are free to go back the way they were before braces. (And I have a removable retainer … somewhere.)

    And dentists. … you said it all.

    • rusty February 9, 2013 at 11:41 pm #

      Ouch! You have my sympathy for wearing braces twice!

  4. Rob Pollak February 23, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

    These are great! I’m still trying to get over the poo one, but love the drawings.

    • rusty February 23, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

      Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

