11 Fun (or Useless) Facts about Rusty Doodle – Part 2

31 Jan

Fun Facts Numbers 8 and 9!Comic Strip on Weak Stomach

You know the poo gag will have to come out eventually. Hopefully, I have done it tastefully. Eewww~

Smelly fun fact number 8 – I suspect I have like straight intestines cause I need to poo poo like 2 to 3 times a day. Either that or I have irritable bowel syndrome which is a more logical explanation but crazy imagination is more fun to a cartoonist!

Because of my weak stomach, a lot of things can actually trigger me to have the runs. For instance, I need to stay away from my favourite food like spicy food (curry, laksa) , raw food (salmon sashimi), cold drinks (bubble tea), hard to digest food (beef steak). It sure is annoying to have a weak stomach when Singapore is a food paradise! The only consolation is sometimes I do get my doodle inspiration during these private moments.

Smelly fun fact number 9 – I have a selection criteria for choosing a public washroom to poo.

Even when I need to use the washroom urgently to make a deposit, I am still insistent that the washroom must be clean. If the washroom is not clean, I will hold it in with my sheer willpower and look for a clean washroom. My younger brother can attest to this in our Seoul trip where I insisted on walking to a shopping mall a few streets away on a few occasions just to use a clean washroom.

In addition, I look for a washroom with privacy so that I can poo in peace. Washrooms situated near train stations is a big no no! Only a flimsy, thin door guards our privacy in public washroom’s cubicles and you know how people will attempt to push the door to test if the cubicle is occupied even when the sign at the lock says it is!

And people shouldn’t get to smell my poo. I mean what if I become a famous cartoonist one day. I don’t want my fans coming up to me and say “Oh Rusty Superstar, I ran into you at the washroom the other day and *giggles* I smelled your poo poo!” That would be totally unglamorous!

Of course, I am being ridiculous on the stardom thing! People shouldn’t get to smell another person’s poo because it is simply smelly. Well, except baby poo. Somehow the mix of baby powder and their simple diet makes babies’ poo smells kind of acceptable. So I give my major respect to nurses, care-takers, parents who not only have to smell other people’s poo but actually clean up the poo. It is a very noble job that you are doing!

Alright, I am going to end here abruptly cause I need to use the washroom! Ahem… I mean to get inspiration for the next comic strip. 😛

10 Responses to “11 Fun (or Useless) Facts about Rusty Doodle – Part 2”

  1. warmginger January 31, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

    I’m worried that I’m the first person to leave a comment here, but hey, being mildly posh and mildly English means a mild obsession with poo! Also, it’s constantly talked about by my sons – see: http://warmginger.com/2013/01/28/free-your-mind/ for the most recent example.
    I think my youngest has the same intestines as you. He swallowed a marble a while back, and we were in A&E getting his intestine x-rayed within 20 minutes of leaving the house (Qatar health service is very good) and much to the doctor’s disbelief, that marble was ready to re-enter the world!
    Love your cartoons by the way and looking foward to more. 😉

    • rusty February 1, 2013 at 11:27 am #

      Feel free to be the first to comment! 😀

      Thank goodness, the marble re-enter the world through natural means! Kids like to experiment at that age. I remember when I was young, my brothers and I have a challenge to swallow pieces of paper. >_<

      Thank you for coming by to my blog!

  2. kawaiisquared January 31, 2013 at 8:51 pm #

    Before I was a graphic designer I was working as a nutritionist & naturopath – there’s a lot that can be done to help digestive discomfort like you describe. Often it has a psychological component where stress/ anxiety can exacerbate the situation (you’ll know if this applies to you if you notice things are particularly bad in times of year when you’re stressed) – learning to feel more relaxed about things (with positive self-talk full of self-encouragement, self-kindness, self-soothing) can help. Also getting enough good sleep helps the psychological element. Magnesium supplements can also help soothe the muscles to avoid muscle spasms that cause excessive washroom breaks. Other things that can help: peppermint & ginger (I know they’re slightly spicy but in a different way to chilli and they are known for helping digestion).

    • rusty February 1, 2013 at 11:43 am #

      Nutritionist?! This is going to sound unbelievable but when I left my job, I was seriously contemplating whether to pursue something in nutrition (like a diploma or degree) because nutrition is an area that I care about. I even applied for some jobs in that field but of course I didn’t hear anything about it because I lack the relevant experience. Of course, as I was not successful in getting any of those jobs, I actually explored my doodling side. 🙂

      Yes, stress / anxiety sure worsens the situation! Every time that I need to handle a big presentation, I want to run to the loo. 😦

      My friends envy me for my carefree lifestyle now in doodling and not having to work at a 9 to 5 corporate job but the stress and anxiety in trying to establish something out of nothing is not any less compared to working at a corporate job. I do have a number of sleepless nights where I toss in bed thinking can I really make it? All these could have explained why my running to the loo moments are not any less now then before.

      Thank you for the nutrition tips! Will try them out!

      • kawaiisquared February 1, 2013 at 6:26 pm #

        cool! That is a coincidence! hehe It’s a useful field to read about even if you’re not going to work in it – some light reading for when you’re taking a break from doodling work 😀

        It’s natural to feel this way when you’re still in the early stages of changing careers (totally been there!). I really do believe you can make it though 🙂

      • rusty February 4, 2013 at 12:39 am #

        Yes, reading up on nutrition is definitely one of my interests!

        Thank you for your encouragement!

  3. yanyandf February 1, 2013 at 11:00 am #

    hahaha this is hilarious! you can’t draw this with a straight face 😀

    • rusty February 1, 2013 at 11:46 am #

      Glad that you find it hilarious! 🙂

  4. Perky Mcjingles February 1, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

    This is had me in stitches! hahaha!

    • rusty February 4, 2013 at 12:39 am #

      Glad to spread some happiness! 🙂

Leave a Reply

