11 Fun (or Useless) Facts about Rusty Doodle – Part 1

29 Jan

The first month of 2013 is coming to an end.

First and foremost, I will like to thank the readers out there and to the 52 followers who are following my blog! Your presence and comments are awesome and they help to fuel my doodling journey!

Second, I will like to thank the following people for nominating me for the Liebster award.

Nick

trophydaughter

nita

yanyandf

jaimelesbaguettes

Understand from Nita that Liebster is a German word for ‘beloved, nicest, sweetest, kindest…’liebster award

I am very thankful that each of you actually took the time to mention and include the hyperlink of my blog on your posts! Not to mention it is an honour that I was listed side by side to outstanding bloggers in your nomination list, some whom I have added to my follow list!

I know RuleofStupid may flipped that I actually make a blog post about the award (read his posts about his positions on awards). Let’s just hope he didn’t see this post and throw me a Flungdung Award. 😀

One of the things to do in receiving the award is that the recipient is to post eleven random facts about him or herself. Since I am a cartoonist, I shall just change things up a little and add a doodle twist to it.

Behold, the 11 Fun (or Useless) Facts about me, starting with number 10 and 11.

Comic Strip on short fingers

So fun fact number 11 is, I actually learned to play the piano since I was like around 5 years old. My dad sent me for piano lessons hoping that I can become either a talented pianist or a piano teacher some day. Unfortunately, playing the piano became a torture as I grew older and eventually I gave up playing the piano all together after acknowledging I am just not gifted. Or technically, because of fun fact number 10 – I have short fingers.

Yes, you heard me right, I have short fingers! If you are kind and wish to put it nicely, I have kids’ fingers! They just stopped growing! So far, none of my friends (both males and females) whom I have compared my fingers with have shorter fingers than me. 😦

And one need to have long slender fingers for pursing a pianist career. Well, at least the musicians who wrote the music score for the advance pieces intended it to be that way because as I advance to the higher grades, it is difficult to play with the musical notes spread so far apart beyond the reach of my short fingers. I can’t reach the perfection required in the musical scores unless I go for finger lengthening surgery. One can’t have long fat fingers either because the black and white notes on the keyboard are thin. With fat fingers, one will risk playing the adjacent notes when one is not supposed to. So there you go, people who cut it as a pianist have excellent long slender fingers! The next time you come across a pianist, ask to examine his or her fingers and you will know what I mean.

Now, there are other reasons, for instance like I have no patience to practice the same music piece over and over again till it is perfect. But that wouldn’t make an interesting comic strip would it? 😛

More fun facts to come!

12 Responses to “11 Fun (or Useless) Facts about Rusty Doodle – Part 1”

  1. ruleofstupid January 29, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

    I can’t throw poo at you after you linked back to me! (yet!)
    Congratulations Rusty 🙂

    • kawaiisquared January 29, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

      yay! congrats on the Liebster award nominations! ^_^

      Re: the piano, I never had the patience to practice the same piece over and over *and over* again too! It’s amazing how much persistence and perseverence some people have!

      • rusty January 29, 2013 at 11:39 pm #

        Thank you!

        Wow, you play the piano too! Yes, I hope my post didn’t undermine the persistence and perseverance that pianists put in so as to perfect a musical piece. But of course, they must have long slender fingers too! Haha..

    • rusty January 29, 2013 at 11:35 pm #

      Thank you! Poo later is better than now. 😀

  2. kawaiisquared January 29, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

    (whoops I posted that accidentally as reply to ruleofstupid >_<)

    • Muffin Girl January 29, 2013 at 11:26 pm #

      Congratulations! 😀 I wish I learned how to play the piano!

      • rusty January 29, 2013 at 11:44 pm #

        Thank you! I would have traded my piano lessons for art classes! 😀

    • rusty January 29, 2013 at 11:40 pm #

      Not to worry, I don’t think he will sling poo at you. 😛

  3. nita January 30, 2013 at 12:52 am #

    ‘I give up 3x’ Lol.

    • rusty January 31, 2013 at 11:17 am #

      Said it 3 times for dramatic effect so as to convince my dad that I really ain’t suitable material to become a pianist! 😀

  4. tim February 1, 2014 at 6:52 am #

    hi rusty. i have small palms and short fingers. i recently bought a guitar intended for children. it’s about half the size overall of a standard guitar. but the neck may still be too big though. i intend to try it for as long as i can and will let you know how it goes. thanks for the strip and keep them coming.

    • rusty February 1, 2014 at 11:39 pm #

      Hi Tim,

      I learned the guitar for 2 years while I was in the school guitar club! I took a while to convince my dad that I am serious with the guitar, especially after dropping off piano. But it turns out he is right. I stopped playing the guitar after graduation. The strings are particularly hard to press on. 😛

      If you find the guitar to be not a right fit, perhaps you can consider the ukulele. I find it a good match for my short fingers. And it has a happy sound too! 😀

Leave a Reply

