Cartoonists are Aloof

19 Jan

Comic Strip on Cartoonists' PersonalitiesYou all know I’m kidding right on the cartoonists are less sociable part? Cartoonists are absolutely friendly people! I mean just on WordPress, I’ve come to know many great and friendly cartoonists!

But sometimes I will say the darndest thing just for fun. I suppose the comment may have been triggered because I do feel a bit cut off from the real world because I’m doodling away at home and I don’t get to interact much with other people beside my family and friends. On the positive note, that make me treasure more of my gatherings with friends and the family time!

And I must admit, I don’t like to do self-introduction first. I almost always wait for the other party to introduce him or herself first or better still, wait for a common friend to make the introductions.

I may be over thinking on this but don’t you think there are so many variables to a self-introduction. It’s like if I make the first move to make a self-introduction, will I come across as too friendly or that I am in the sales industry and trying to sell a product to the other person? Should I offer a handshake together with the self-introduction and if I do, how firm should my handshake be? How much should I share or say in the self-introduction to come across as genuine and yet not boring. For instance, do I go “Hi, I’m Rusty. I’m a cartoonist. May I draw you?” Then, there is the tone of the voice, there are thin lines among being friendly, cool and Darth Vader. All this leading to the formation of the first impression! And we all know, there ain’t another first impression!

Whereas, if the other party make the self-introduction first, then I can adapt accordingly to his or her style. This is my personal preference and I don’t advocate that anyone follow my approach cause if you do and I meet up with you in person, it is going to be awkward silence without anyone making the first self-introduction.

So there you go, I am not aloof, I just don’t like to make the self-introduction first!

4 Responses to “Cartoonists are Aloof”

  1. kawaiisquared January 19, 2013 at 4:24 am #

    hehe I think a lot of people who are self-employed and work at home (artists, cartoonists and others) feel a little cut off from the world sometimes. But there are lots of ways to meet people other than work if you seek those ways out 🙂

    As for your questions:
    – “will I come across as too friendly”? —- what’s wrong with that?? :D:D
    – or that I am in the sales industry and trying to sell a product to the other person? —- probably not once they realise you’re not selling anything during the conversation 😛
    – Should I offer a handshake together with the self-introduction and if I do, how firm should my handshake be? How much should I share or say in the self-introduction to come across as genuine and yet not boring. — I’d go with “do what you’re comfortable with” – there’s no right or wrong answer!

    Personally, although I don’t *like* to do it, I usually tend to push outside my comfort zone and make myself do self-introductions as soon as we sit down / meet – it beats sitting awkwardly, semi-ignoring the person sitting next to you throughout the whole party – which may happen if they too dont like doing self-introductions either! And there’s absolutely nothing to lose! If you dont say anything and they dont either – they won’t ever see you again. If you say something and mess up – they probably won’t ever see you again anyway. If you say something and get to know a cool new person – win! 😀

    • rusty January 20, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

      Darn, you have put it so convincingly that I should make the self-introduction first! And I thought I have it all covered. Let me build up my courage, I may just test your approach. 😀

  2. ruleofstupid January 19, 2013 at 5:46 am #

    I’m not saying anything till you do…

    • rusty January 20, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

      Hmm… if you don’t identify yourself as ROS first, my first response at seeing a panda may be to call the Zoo. You know how rare pandas are! 🙂

Leave a Reply

