Words are Powerful

9 Jan

Comic strip on words

Words are powerful tools. We can use them to brighten up someone else’s day, like how you readers have been motivating and encouraging me with your kind words. Or we can use them knowingly or unknowingly as destructive weapons that hurt someone emotionally or cripple someone’s confidence, some times in a way that scars a person more, compared to physical hurt. Indeed, my parents’ reactions to my doodling journey really shook my confidence and I’m not sure whether I can meet their expectations soon enough. It also explains why I have fewer blog posts nowadays as I was busy drawing and designing to expand my portfolio.

Yet, words are after all just tools. They depend on the user and the receiver to give meaning to them. That is we can choose how we wish to use the words and how we interpret the words. In my case, the whole incident was actually fun to doodle! And I’m going to persevere and work harder on my doodles. When the going gets tough, it just means that I’m getting closer to my goals! Self torture mentality! 😛

For readers waiting for the return of the colorful Rusty, yes he will return soon. I’m just practising to make sure I get the black and white style right. This style will be used henceforth if I need to doodle a heavier topic. Overall, I’m very happy with this strip cause I challenged myself and did 8 frames! Although I must confess I re-used one frame from the previous comic strip. Hehe.

Back to the drawing board! 🙂

9 Responses to “Words are Powerful”

  1. Grumpy January 9, 2013 at 5:52 am #

    Carry on doodling, regardless!

  2. bighair63 January 9, 2013 at 6:15 am #

    Aren’t parents something!? I love your cartoons! I would love to be a full time, paid cartoonist – it’s a cracking way to earn a living! Oh to dream!

    • rusty January 9, 2013 at 9:21 am #

      My parents are great inspirations for my doodles. Hehe.

      I’m sure you can! Your cartoons are of very professional quality.

  3. ruleofstupid January 10, 2013 at 6:29 am #

    everyone has their beliefs – your parents have theirs about you, but your own are better informed… keep chasing the dream 🙂

    • rusty January 10, 2013 at 9:42 am #

      lol. Thank you!

  4. erakanksha January 13, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    Nice thoughts about “WORD POWER” 🙂

    • rusty January 13, 2013 at 6:56 pm #

      Hehe! Some days I do use my brain a little! 😀

      • erakanksha January 13, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

        good one..!!
        u n ur blogs r really “Stress-busters”… no one can go away without smiling and laughing 🙂

Leave a Reply

