Cake or no cake?

15 Dec

Introducing a new character – my youngest brother!

As it goes, my youngest brother beat me to baking cakes first despite that he rarely cooks anything. Therefore he deserves a 6 frame feature!

He attempted to make a pandan cake which is a light, fluffy cake of Malay origins, flavoured with the juice of pandan leaves. The cakes are conventionally light green in colour due to the chlorophyll in the leaf juice. My brother thought it is an easy cake for beginners as no frosting is required.

So how was his first baking experiment? Read on…

Comic Strip on Baking Went WrongAs I watched my brother prepared the cake, I could almost conclude that the cake is not going to look and taste like a pandan cake. Well, as an older brother, I will need to reserve that 1% optimism that magically the cake is a success against all odds.

Unlike cooking, baking has a lower threshold for erroneous measurements and ingredients. Yes, one should experiment with different ingredients in cooking and baking to come up with inventive and delicious dishes. However, my brother ain’t Martha Stewart yet to pull that off. End result, he got a non green, flat, way too moist and coconut flavoured “pandan” cake. Better try next time!

If you are interested to know more about pandan cake, read this page which my brother loosely followed. 😛

So how is my own baking experience? That is for another comic strip! Lol.

2 Responses to “Cake or no cake?”

  1. ruleofstupid December 15, 2012 at 8:57 am #

    Panda leaves?
    Panda eats, shoots and leaves!

    • rusty December 15, 2012 at 10:32 am #

      Wahaha… thanks for highlighting my typo! It is pandan leaves! Amended my post.

      Heaven forbid that people try to make cakes using panda. You are a rare species already!

Leave a Reply

