Cupcake Quotes: Dad

30 Nov

Comic Strip on Cupcakes

While mini cupcake may need to share his parents’ love with his numerous siblings, he soon realises that fortunately he has more than one dad. That means there is more love to be shared around!

Unlike cupcakes, we may have only one birth dad (I use “may” because technology advancement blurs things that I take for granted), yet we can still have more than one dad in our life, like the cupcakes. And no, I am not suggesting that you find a sugar daddy. Instead, I am using the term “dad” loosely to mean mentors and role models.

If you have come across the book “Rich dad poor dad” by Robert Kiyosaki, you would have heard how the author was raised to be financially savvy from his friend’s dad who he affectionately addresses as Rich dad. There are people who don’t agree with the views in the book but the reason why I am quoting this book is to illustrate that there are many people around us who we can learn from to become better individuals. Personally, I have benefited a lot from the mentoring that I received from my ex-bosses and by observing each of them in their unique management styles and strengths. Sadly, there are people who hate their bosses to the guts and focus on their bosses’ weaknesses, failing to explore the wonderful learning opportunities.

And it does not even have to be confined to just learning from people who are physically around us. With the accessibility of books and the internet, I can learn from writers, fellow bloggers and cartoonists from all around the world on various topics and that really widens my perspective of things. I definitely would not have dreamed to be a cartoonist if I listen only to my own dad. It is only a matter of whether one wishes to seek and learn from these “dads”. No offence here, dad. I still love you!

So who is your daddy? 🙂

4 Responses to “Cupcake Quotes: Dad”

  1. ruleofstupid November 30, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

    It’s also important to remember that we can learn much from people we do not like. Learning what not to do has value too! Don’t just block them out, understand them.

    • rusty November 30, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

      Haha that is true! Those people would be “bad daddies”?

  2. imconfident December 1, 2012 at 12:49 am #

    Great thoughts! It is so true that we can be postively mentored by people other than our parents, which is a good thing because many people don’t have parents that are good role models. We should all try to mentor someone in our younger generation – they need all the help they can get.

    • rusty December 1, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

      Thank you.

      I have yet to reach the stage where I qualify to be a mentor but I will try to help or offer different perspectives if I can. 🙂

Leave a Reply

