Ways to make a creative living

22 Nov

Comic Strip on cartoonistMentioned in my first post for November, my aim was to come up with 12 comic strips for November. Guess what? The above is already the 15th comic strip for November. I couldn’t have done it if not for all your support and positive energy. That really kept me motivated to doodle more! I’m going to set a higher target for December! 🙂

Following the previous post on working for passion, this post documents the things I had tried in the past 2 months on my journey of trying to earn a living by doodling. By blogging about it, I suppose it gives me a sense of accountability which helps to push me forward. In addition, through sharing my personal experience, I hope it helps anyone who is considering a doodling career.

1) DesignCrowd

In DesignCrowd, businesses post design contests or freelance jobs for designers. Designers choose the ones they like and respond to them and stand to win or earn money.

It is easy to get started on the design work on the site and I get to choose projects that interest me. However, this site is not a good fit for me as it is more on designing logos, business cards etc who require different skill sets rather than doodling. But I did try a few design contests, including an interesting one on clocks illustrations, although all with zero success.

I feel that DesignCrowd is more beneficial for businesses rather than designers because businesses get to choose from the large pool of diverse designers (hence, the name DesignCrowd) who are designing specifically for them. I don’t suppose businesses would be able to get the same level of commitment and diversity through hiring a design firm. Furthermore, the charges are reasonably low. On the other hand, if a designer is not the “winning” designer, he or she would not get anything after all his or her efforts. And because the designs are specific for the business, it is difficult for the designer to use it elsewhere.

Of course, there are talented designers who can come up with good quality logos within half an hour which would have been more equitable to their efforts.

If you are interested to know more about DesignCrowd, click here. If you wish to view my horrible designs on DesignCrowd and have a good laugh, you can search for “rusty” on DesignCrowd. Look for the rusty based in Singapore.

2) Zazzle Store

This shouldn’t be foreign as I have a Zazzle store page on my blog.

For Zazzle, there is much more flexibility for me to doodle and there is no pressure to be the “winning” entry. However, as there are so many talented artists and cartoonists out there, it may be hard to get noticed among the crowd. Hence, I’m really thankful to you all who clicked on my Zazzle Store, improving its visibility in Zazzle search results.

Special thanks to Mr Oh who bought Christmas postcards from my store and my brother who bought magnets as Christmas gifts for his friends and colleagues! This is huge for me!

I’m anxiously waiting for the magnets to arrive and hold them in my hands! I just know it that the feeling of holding the tangible products with my doodles on them is going to be awesome! I wish I have started Zazzle much earlier because I was always at a loss what Christmas gifts to get for my colleagues. It would have been so cool to give them gifts personalised by me. Why didn’t I think of that then?

From what I read from the Zazzle forums, it seems that one needs a sizeable portfolio of around 1,000 products in order to achieve some form of moderate success with Zazzle. I currently have 71 products so it is still a long way to go. Hopefully, I can achieve 300 products by the end of December.

So there you have it folks, that is what I have been doing for my doodling journey so far. If you have any questions on the above two channels, I will try my best to help with what I know.

Also, I’m all ears if you have any channels or suggestions that I should try. I mean, I even try to capitalise on my annoyance, what is there to stop me? Haha!

4 Responses to “Ways to make a creative living”

  1. ruleofstupid November 23, 2012 at 2:54 am #

    More power to your doodle! (which sounds like I’m cheering you on during sex… disturbing!)

    • rusty November 23, 2012 at 9:07 am #

      thanks for the encouragement and disturbing images at the same time. Haha.

      No wonder pandas have low birth rates. 😛

  2. Mr Oh December 31, 2012 at 2:21 am #

    Nice one. Thanks for the mention. I think you could be on to a winner with the baby products on Cafepress. Like you say, some of your designs lend themselves to baby gear. I’ve also read that you need around 1000 products to see some proper income, but you’ve easily got it in you, judging by the energy of this post.

    • rusty January 1, 2013 at 1:50 am #

      Hopefully Cafepress works for me in 2013! Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

