Family Critics

13 Nov

Rusty Doodle Comic StripMy brother asked how come he ain’t featured in my comic strips since he had such a huge impact on my doodling life. He is right. He absolutely deserves a special feature on my comic strips. It’s just that there are a number of events going on in my life which I need to doodle timely about, hence the delay. So the next few comic strips would be featuring him. If you are interested in the back story of my brother’s impact on my doodling life, you can read the “About Rusty” page.

In a previous post “Telling the Truth in Business“, I mentioned that customers may not necessarily like to hear the truth about things in business. From a personal development perspective however, I would want to hear the true feedback and comments on my work, so that I can improve and be the best that I can be. Besides fellow cartoonists, I suppose there is no better critic than my immediate family and my very close friends as they are the ones who have developed that strong relationship and trust level with me that they know how to bring the genuine messages across without antagonising me. Ok, I admit, sometimes we still step on each other’s tolerance boundary just for the fun of it but that is how you strengthen a relationship, right?

I’m thankful for my two younger brothers who are my biggest critics and editors at the moment and who really push me to grow as a cartoonist. For instance, in the above comic strip, I went through 4 designs before getting their approval for the new character design. Although I do particularly like a curly hair and round face character design even if he looks nothing like my brother. Side note: My brother likes to have a nerdy character design so the name Nerdy is fitting and it ends with a Y just like Rusty.

To sum it up, with the inputs from them, I can only get better! 🙂

4 Responses to “Family Critics”

  1. yanyandf November 13, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    it’s always fun to have your siblings critic your work. They do that all the time to me. Haha fun times! 😀

    • rusty November 13, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

      I couldn’t agree more. It is totally fun for me to critic their work too. 😀

  2. Mr Oh November 19, 2012 at 12:02 am #

    I know what you mean about having friends help take a critical look at your ideas. It’s really helpful. I show mine to my wife who is thankfully brutally honest! I’m enjoying looking at your cartoons and found you through ROS.

    • rusty November 19, 2012 at 12:21 am #

      Thank you for dropping by and your words of encouragement!

Leave a Reply

