The Doodle Inspiration Process

7 Nov

Doodle FairyIn this comic strip, I let you in on the process where I get inspiration for my doodles.

For the mathematics geniuses, don’t freak out just yet if the percentages don’t add up to 100%. The doodle fairy is a magical being, so a little bit of the fairy dust works wonders, way beyond 100%. That is why the artworks from great cartoonists are simply magical! Besides, it is perfectly logical to be somewhat illogical in a comic strip. 🙂

Anyway, thanks to all the inspirations that I’ve been getting, I’ve like 10+ doodles in my mind that I would like to sketch out. Unfortunately, I’m limited in my technical skills to do them fast enough. Need some time to improve my skills.

Lastly, a quick note. My trial for Adobe Illustrator is ending tomorrow. I’m still searching around for a reasonable price to purchase the software. It ain’t too wise for a jobless person to purchase an expensive software but I don’t wish to obtain the software via any illegal means either. Copyrights are so essential for cartoonists right? So I guess the same applies for software rights.

If all else fails, I would be learning to use free illustration software that are similar to Adobe Illustrator but there is a learning curve to it. I may disappear from the blog for a few days to sort these issues out. Let’s see how things pan out. Hopefully for the best!

 

6 Responses to “The Doodle Inspiration Process”

  1. Grumpy November 7, 2012 at 10:31 am #

    Rusty, please try http://inkscape.org/ Inkscape is a free, open source, vector graphics editor. Inkscape is similar to Illustrator but, in my opinion, a better choice. The fact that it’s free also helps!

    • rusty November 7, 2012 at 11:15 am #

      Thanks Grumpy for the suggestion! I saw what Inkscape can do from your blog and it certainly looks promising. It is definitely one of the top options at the moment.

      I have downloaded it. Will go through some tutorials to figure out how it works.

  2. ruleofstupid November 7, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

    There’s a way of ‘renting’ illustrator – you pay monthly to use it rather than buying it outright. Might be more affordable? But Inkscape is really good for a freebie.

    • rusty November 7, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

      Thanks for the suggestion! I tried getting the monthly license but it is not available for Singapore and this is after checking with the sales reps via the online chat. I saw a cheaper version for students. Thinking of getting it. Just need to check if the features are the same.

      • ruleofstupid November 7, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

        They are – I’ve used it 🙂 Good luck

      • rusty November 7, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

        That’s great!

Leave a Reply

