The Great Discount

30 Oct

Impulse BuyingI simply cannot resist impulse buying during a sale. Yes, it is my inherent flaw. Even when I know at the back of my mind that my favourite brands are setting up traps for me with their alluring signages, I would be like a moth to a flame and step right in to their shops and get things which I don’t need or things that don’t match my style, all for the sake of the “good” discount. And guess what, I regret my buying decisions for the discounted items like 90% of the time. Alright, I didn’t actually compute the 90% figure, the percentage is added for the dramatic effect.

Such sale items waste space in my closet and in the rarest chance that I take them out, they would quickly be returned back to the closet unless I decide to go for the hideous look that day. And when spring cleaning comes, I would still have to deliberate whether I should discard them away because I wore them so few times.

So what is my strategy?

Avoid shopping during sale periods and in the unfortunate event that I absolutely have to, bring my brother along for shopping and attempt to convince him to buy the sale items that I am eyeing. If he doesn’t buy them, they are probably not worth it. If he indeed buys them, well better him than me. 🙂

What strategies do you have against impulse buying?

3 Responses to “The Great Discount”

  1. bighair63 November 14, 2012 at 2:24 am #

    I totally hear you on this one! I’m always drawn to big red SALE signs then feel I mustn’t miss out on the opportunity to get something at the sale price. I ALWAYS regret it!!!

    • rusty November 14, 2012 at 10:40 am #

      There is a need for a support group for this! lol.

  2. future garage November 16, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    Hello there, just became alerted to your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

