The procrastination monster

1 Oct

No matter the amount of greatness that you have contributed to the world around you, no one is perfect. You just need to flip the newspaper any day and you can find some high-profile people who have fallen from grace. There is this Chinese saying “好事不出门,恶事传千里”. This literally means goods deeds do not go beyond the door, evil deeds spread a thousand miles. While these high-profile people have contributed to society in ways, sadly such contributions are easily overshadowed by their moment of weaknesses. Guess bad news make good news for the newspapers.

Everyone of us go through each day battling our inner demons and monsters. If we continuously lose the battles, we would eventually get consumed by our inner demons and monsters and spiral into the path of darkness.

I am no exception. I too have my inner monster. 

The thing about the procrastination monster is you really can’t tell if he is a monster at first. After all, he is always so supportive and accommodating to you. He understands that you are hesitant to progress or stuck on a piece of work and offers you options like Hong Kong TV drama serials, Facebook games and surfing on the internet to make you feel better. Ain’t he a friend?

But is he?

No the procrastination monster is way more dangerous than he appears to be!

“I got this big idea that I want to work on which will make me rich!” I shared to the procrastination monster.

“Sure, let’s research on the internet to gather more information for your big idea!” the procrastination monster enthusiastically replied. “Oh while the research results are loading, let’s take a look at Facebook to see how your friends are doing,” he innocently added.

After a minute or two…

“Hey, your friend shared a YouTube video on some crazy Korean guy doing some mad shit dancing. Gangnam style or something. Want to take a look?” the procrastination monster suggested.

“Sure, why not?” I replied. The day is still young anyway.

“Ehhhhhh~ Sexy Lady
Op op op op
Oppan Gangnam Style”

Tick tock. Tick tock…

Numerous hours of random internet surfing and everything else later, it is the end of the day and my progress on my big idea is still the same – the starting point. Gosh, where did all the time went?

And each new day, I come up with spectacular and creative excuses together with the procrastination monster to justify delaying the big idea that I was supposed to work on.

“It’s just after lunch. Let’s take it slow.”

“You need to reward yourself for making some progress.”

“There are lots of good ideas and they all look good. But I am not sure if it is the one. Maybe I should wait some more for the one to come?”

“I don’t feel like doing any tough work today.”

“Sigh. I don’t know if I should be spending any more time on this project. It may be a total waste of time.”

“It’s Friday!”

“The Hong Kong drama TV series is just so exciting. I need to continue!”

“I better rethink this over. It doesn’t seem right.”

My fear of failure, the need for perfection and plain laziness fuels the excuses. And the excuses goes on and on and on.

And before I know it…

If I am not careful, I may land up being mediocre like so many others. It is a not a bad or good place to be but simply a place not worth mentioning and forgettable.

No to mediocrity!!! I shall continue on my quest to fend off the procrastination monster by getting meaningful things done and run away as fast as I can when the procrastination monster tempts me with distractions or excuses.

Ganbatte!

PS: I had to go through a tug of war with the procrastination monster before yanking this post to materalisation.

2 Responses to “The procrastination monster”

  1. Hannah Sterry October 17, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    I seem to be struggling with this monster at the moment! 🙂

    • rusty October 18, 2012 at 12:31 am #

      We all do don’t we! 😀

Leave a Reply

